Google Virals Shared Stories

New chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb is the first BJP CM of Tripura so far

Biplab Kumar Deb was sworn in as the chief minister of Tripura on 9th march. Biplab Deb took his oath as the chief minister of Tripura and BJP officially enters into the left bastion coloring it saffron. This ending 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPM-led Left Front has been put to an end. He is the first BJP chief minister in of Tripura which was previously controlled by the CPM.

Biplab Kumar Deb born in 1969 has been the state president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Tripura since 7 January 2016.  Forty-eight-year-old Deb had met governor Tathagata Roy on March 6 to stake claim to form the government after BJP along with its ally IPFT won 43 seats in the recently concluded assembly elections.

Reacting to the “unexpected result”, Mr Sarkar said that the party had been caught off-guard. The CPM has accused the BJP of “massive deployment of money and other resources to influence the elections”.

CPI(M) leader and Chief Minister Manik Sarkar, who has been in power for 20 years, has reached the end, with the party getting 16 seats. The BJP won 35 of the 59 seats that went to polls in Tripura, ousting the CPI(M) which won only in 17 assembly constituencies.

Mr Sarkar, however, attended Biplab Kumar Deb swearing in ceremony in Agartala following an invitation from senior BJP leader Ram Madhav and Biplab Kumar Deb who had wanted him to be present at the change of guard.
PM Narendra Modi also arrived congratulated Biplab Kumar Deb  ahead of the swearing-in ceremony of the first BJP-led government in Tripura. Chief minister-elect Biplab Deb and Governor Tathagatha Roy received him.

BJP leaders say their strategy for the state was to pit the Manik Sarkar government against “Modi sarkar”. All the chief ministers of the BJP-ruled states were present during the ceremony.

 2,395 total views,  2 views today


  1. Essay March 11, 2018
  2. Vasop March 12, 2018

Add Comment